Self-Publishing For Teens Part 2 – Covers: Where to Find a Quality Cover?

cropped-reveille-cover-without-words-jpeg2.jpg

Great covers make or break books. A good cover may cause a customer to take a second look at your book. While a bad cover could get you overlooked or worse, scorned.

Of course, some the best covers are made by professionals, but these cost money. Something which we, teenage authors, sometimes lack.

I have never made a cover and have no idea how to run Photoshop. That said, it is a possible resource to make covers.

My cover (which I love) was made by a NaNoWriMo YWP participant. If I you are part of NaNoWriMo YWP, I highly recommend checking out the art part of the forum, where many teens are willing to make covers.

Kindle Cover Creator: I have never used this tool, but I believe that you can take one of your pictures or from their selection of images and use it as the background for your cover, before further customizing it. (See link for more information)

CreateSpace Cover Creator: I did use this for my first book. It worked quite well, once I submitted the right image. At this stage I did not have a back cover made, so I used one of their templates.

Unfortunately, the Kindle cover I had didn’t work (I think the words were maybe too close to the sides of the cover) . In order to use the template I chose, I got just the background image of my cover, not the words. This worked and was able to add a tile, author’s name, back blurb.

Once that was figured out, the cover turned out great (you can go to Amazon and compare the paperback with the ebook cover, both are great, though they are slightly different) .

Tip: Make sure that your cover is the correct size as well as having the recommended DPI.

Tip 2: Be patient with the cover and make sure that it’s a good one.

Next week there will be a post on formatting your book. So I hope that you’ll come back and check it out.

Please comment if you have any questions. I hope that this post was helpful. If it was, please tell your friends about the blog and subscribe.

Writing for His glory,

David B. Hunter

Leave a Reply

